Europe Aug 05, 2013

The new centre of Europe: Lower Franconia

9 degrees, 4 minutes, 53 seconds eastern longitude, 50 degrees, 7 minutes, 1 second northern latitude – these are the coordinates of the centre of Europe.

Since Croatia's entry to the European Union, the geographical centre of the EU has been located in Westerngrund, Lower Franconia, in the Aschaffenburg district.

Our Special on Lower Franconia shows you everything the administrative district, that is home to the centre of Europe, has to offer at a glance.